• Rafia Shabbir

30 Examples of Bloom's Taxonomy Learning Objectives For Teachers

Updated: Aug 20, 2021

Bloom’s taxonomy is a hierarchical order of learning objectives that educators set for their students

It is widely used in education and is also branded as the Taxonomy of Educational Objectives. It facilitates the teachers to achieve their teaching objectives by setting goals for the student learning and then creating assessments to observe the learning outcomes. The use of bloom’s taxonomy is widespread among educators as it helps them in:

  • Creating lesson plans, learning activities and instructional strategies based on the complexity of the subject matter

  • Curriculum mapping and designing courses

  • Creating assessments to measure the learning outcomes of the students

Best Articles from Educationise

  1. 8 Free Math Problem Solving Websites and Applications

  2. 11 Activities that promote critical thinking in the class

  3. 6 steps to implement project based learning in the class

  4. What is design thinking and why it is critical for success in business and education?

  5. Why is STEM education important?

  6. What is Growth mindset? 50+ motivational quotes on growth mindset.

History Of Bloom’s Taxonomy

Bloom’s taxonomy is named after Benjamin Bloom - an educational psychologist at the University of Chicago who chaired the committee which proposed bloom’s taxonomy in 1956. The committee proposed the following three domains of learning.

  • Cognitive: It corresponds to the mental abilities of a person. It is divided into six learning objectives which are explained below in this article in detail.

  • Affective: It involves emotional areas and growth in feelings. Like cognitive domain, this level comprises of five categories. These five categories are receiving, responding, valuing, organization and characterization.

  • Psychomotor: Psychomotor domain encompasses physical or manual skills which require practice. These skills are measured against factors such as speed, precision, distance, procedures, or techniques in execution.

Bloom’s committee originally proposed five learning levels of the cognitive process which were ranked in the order of their complexity. However, in 2001 it was revised to incorporate the 6th level. These 6 levels are used by the teachers all over the world to formulate curriculum, lesson plans, learning standards or objectives and assessments for courses.

Originally it was proposed to devise a common teaching language for educators so that they can communicate learning and assessment methods with each other. The primary goal of bloom’s taxonomy is to create a higher-level thinking and skills among students starting from the most basic level.

Six Levels Of Bloom's Taxonomy

The six levels of learning proposed by Bloom’s taxonomy are explained below along with the 30 examples of learning goals and objectives for teachers.

Shop Top Rated Products at Amazon